clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Syracuse Lacrosse: MLL Legends Alumni Game Featuring 10 Former Orange Players

The MLL will hold its first ever Legends Alumni Game as part of the Lake Placid Summit Classic on August 5, 2016. The rosters feature ten former Syracuse players and some of the lacrosse world's greatest ever.

Justin Edmonds/Getty Images

On August 5 the MLL will hold its first ever Legends Alumni Game featuring the league's all-time best. The event will be held as part of the Lake Placid Summit Classic.

The two rosters feature ten former Syracuse Orange players including two current SU women's coaches in Regy Thorpe and Gary Gait. Thorpe, the 1991 Defenseman of the Year while at Herkimer Junior College, was an All-American on the 1993 National Championship team at SU and is currently an assistant coach on the women's side. His son, Gale Thorpe, is a currently on the men's team. Gale redshirted in 2015 and played in seven games this past year totaling two goals and an assist. Of course, Gait is part of the illustrious history of the number 22 at ‘Cuse and is widely regarded as the most transcendent player in lacrosse history.

The most recent SU player on the roster is Dan Hardy, a three-time All-American at Syracuse and another standout player to don the #22. In 2009 Hardy was the 2009 MLL Rookie of the Year, but 'Cuse fans probably remember him more for his game winning assist in overtime of the National Championship against Cornell. Both Leveille brothers will also be playing. Kevin Leveille played at UMass, while his younger brother Mike Leveille wore an Orange uniform. Mike Leveille, the 2008 Tewaaraton Trophy winner, and Gary Gait are both members of the 200-point club at SU with Gait being the leading goal scorer in Syracuse history and Leveille being just recently edged out of the top 10 by Dylan Donahue.

In 2001 Solomon Bliss took over his starting defensive position after the graduation of Marshall Abrams. He redshirted in 1999 and finished out his career in 2003 as a two-time All-American and two-time captain. In his five years, he saw his team reach the National Championship game four times, winning it twice. In the 2002 title game, Bliss played through a torn ACL which he suffered in the semifinal matchup versus Virginia.

Ric Beardsley, better known as Uncle Ricky, earned All-American honors four times and was part of the 1993 and 1995 National Championship teams. He currently is the head coach at Christian Brothers Academy alongside my former Faegan's coworker and CNY legend Michael Holdridge. Beyond his coaching position, Beardsley continues to be a strong presence in the central New York lacrosse world and brings a tremendous amount of enthusiasm to the SU lacrosse broadcasts as a color commentator.

Tim Byrnes, a former MLL All-Star, will be joined on the Team Headstrong midfield by Kevin Dougherty. Dougherty actually graduated from Hofstra where he played three seasons and redshirted in 2003 due to an injury. He joined the Orange for the 2004 season as he pursued a graduate degree. The Syracuse, NY native put up 21 goals in the 2004 National Championship season.

The 2001 William Schmeisser Award winner for the most outstanding defenseman in division I lacrosse, John Glatzel was a two-time All-American for SU and a two-time captain for the Orange. Glatzel was part of a pair National Championship seasons between 1998 and 2002.

Pat McCabe, a three time All-American and the 1990 NCAA Defenseman of the Year, is one of 25 Syracuse player in the US Lacrosse Hall of Fame. He currently is entering his third season as the head coach of the women's lacrosse team at division II Adelphi University where he was named the NE-10 Coach of the Year in 2016.

If you're in Lake Placid, NY for the tournament you can roam over to North Elba Athletic Field #1 at 5 PM, no tickets required. The event will also be broadcasted on LAX Sports Network.

Team Lead the Way

Sol Bliss -€” D -€” Rochester Rattlers

Gary Gait -€” A -€” Baltimore Bayhawks

Regy Thorpe -€” D -€” Rochester Rattlers

Team Headstrong

Ric Beardsley -€” D -€” Rochester Rattler

Tim Byrnes -€” M -€” Long Island Lizards

Kevin Dougherty -€” M -€” LA Riptide

John Glatzel -€” D -€” Rochester Rattlers

Dan Hardy -€” M -€” Rochester Rattlers

Mike Leveille -€” A -€” Chicago Machine

Pat McCabe -€” D -€” Long Island Lizards