clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Syracuse Lacrosse: ACC Names Desko Coach of the Year

The ACC named head coach John Desko the Conference's Coach of the Year on Tuesday. Desko received a lot of criticism after a 1-4 stretch but was able to correct the team's course and win the ACC Championship.

Tommy Gilligan-USA TODAY Sports

For the second straight year, Syracuse Orange lacrosse's head coach John Desko is the ACC Coach of the Year. Isn't he just the worst?

Just a few weeks ago the Orange were in the midst of a 1-4 stretch and looked like they would miss the NCAA Tournament. It was at that point that the #fireDesko crew came out in full force. Syracuse turned it around, however, and went on a four game roll to win the ACC crown. A lot of credit has to go Desko's way for keeping the players' attitude positive and believing that they could still beat the best of the best even after getting blown out by Notre Dame 17-7. Confidence was never lacked by this team and doubt never crept into their minds.

I am, and have always been, a big fan of Desko's. I think a lot of the credit for the rebound goes to the decision to start Evan Molloy in place of Warren Hill. That's not to say that Hill is not a quality goaltender, but Molloy has played significantly better and his communication is much better suited for this defense.

The most recent example of Desko's coaching ability came last weekend. The Orange came out of a lengthy lightening delay up 9-8 on Duke with 7:30 remaining in the game. SU was able to hold the Blue Devils scoreless in the remainder of the day while putting up five straight goals. Keeping your team focused during a three hour break from action is not an easy task, but Syracuse was locked in for those final minutes.

There are only a few teams in college lacrosse that are playing as well as Syracuse is right now, and even fewer that have shown as much improvement as Syracuse has shown. I give a lot of that credit to John Desko, division I's winningest active head coach.

2016 ACC Awards

Offensive Player of the Year: Myles Jones, Midfield, Duke Blue Devils

Defensive Player of the Year: Matt Landis, Defense, Notre Dame Fighting Irish

Freshman of the Year: Ryder Garnsey, Attack, Notre Dame Fighting Irish

Coach of the Year: John Desko, Syracuse

Syracuse will host the Colgate Raiders on Saturday at 1 PM in the regular season finale. The game can be seen on ESPN3/TWCS and heard on TK99. Of course you can follow me @Orangelax for updates.