clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Judah Mintz makes Bob Cousy Award Watch List

The sophomore was included in the preseason watchlist for the highest honor given to college point guards.

2023 NBA Combine Photo by Kamil Krzaczynski/NBAE via Getty Images

The Syracuse Orange men’s basketball team had its point guard named to the preseason Bob Cousy Award Watch List. Judah Mintz was one of 20 guards named. The Bob Cousy Award is an annual honor given to the top point guard in college basketball by the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame.

The award is named after Class of 1971 Hall of Fame inductee Bob Cousy, the former Boston Celtic and Holy Cross guard. A national committee of college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.

Mintz returns to Syracuse for his sophomore season after going through the NBA Draft process last summer. He’s the leading returning scorer for the Orange and led all ACC freshmen in scoring (16.3) and field goal percentage (44.3%). He was named to the All-ACC freshman team and given All-ACC honorable mention.

The last time Syracuse had a player named to the preseason watch list was in 2013 when it had Tyler Ennis. A Syracuse player has never won the Bob Cousy Award, which dates back to the 2003-04 season.

Fans are encouraged to participate in Fan Voting in each of the three rounds starting this Friday. In late January, the watch list of 20 players for the 2024 Bob Cousy Award will be narrowed to 10, and then in late February, to just 5. In March, the five finalists will be presented to Cousy and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee, where a winner will be selected.

2024 Bob Cousy Award Candidates:

Isaiah Stevens Colorado State

Nijel Pack Miami (Fla.)

Steven Ashworth Creighton

RJ Davis North Carolina

Tyrese Proctor Duke

Boo Buie Northwestern

Ryan Nembhard Gonzaga

Ace Baldwin Jr. Penn State

Jamal Shead Houston

Judah Mintz Syracuse

Dajuan Harris Jr. Kansas

Zakai Zeigler Tennessee

DJ Wagner Kentucky

Max Abmas Texas

Tyler Kolek Marquette

Wade Taylor IV Texas A&M

Jahmir Young Maryland

Tristen Newton UConn

Jahvon Quinerly Memphis

Isaiah Collier USC