clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Syracuse football bracket: Championship round

Our exercise comes down to exactly the teams you thought it would.

Syracuse Orangemen Don McPherson Photo by George Gojkovich/Getty Images

When this Syracuse Orange football bracket started on Monday, it was assumed we’d end up with the 1959 team facing off with the 1987 team. And... yeah, we got exactly that after some very lopsided voting in the Final Four. SU’s 1959 squad ran away with a 93% to 7% win over 1991, while 1987 beat 1992 by a 90% to 10% margin.

These were just the latest drubbings handed out by the only two unbeaten teams in program history, and now we end up with a matchup that should at least be a little more interesting for both. Syracuse’s 1959 team really was among the best of all-time on both sides of the ball. Meanwhile, the 1987 team is beloved by fans but is most remembered for the tie at the end vs. a legitimate claim to a split national championship (something a win over Auburn in the Sugar Bowl would’ve at least assisted a bit).

So who are you rooting for? SU’s lone title holder, or the only ones with t-shirts claiming one? Log your votes below through 11 p.m. ET.


Which Syracuse team wins the matchup?

This poll is closed

  • 71%
    (122 votes)
  • 28%
    (48 votes)
170 votes total Vote Now