clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Syracuse football announces game dates for full 2020 schedule

New, 40 comments

The season doesn’t kick off for many months, but at least we know when the games are happening now.

NCAA Football: Western Michigan at Syracuse Mark Konezny-USA TODAY Sports

It’s basically a national holiday here on TNIAAM, as the Syracuse Orange (and the ACC) have announced the 2020 football schedule — including all dates and opponents. First and foremost, you can check that out below, via Twitter:

And for SEO purposes, here’s the full list in plain text form.

Friday, Sept. 4: at Boston College Eagles

Saturday, Sept. 12: at Rutgers Scarlet Knights

Saturday, Sept. 19: Colgate Raiders

Saturday, Sept. 26: at Western Michigan Broncos

Saturday, Oct. 3: Louisville Cardinals

Saturday, Oct. 10: BYE

Saturday, Oct. 17: Liberty Flames

Saturday, Oct. 24: at Clemson Tigers

Saturday: Oct. 31: Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets

Saturday, Nov. 7: at Wake Forest Demon Deacons

Saturday, Nov. 14: N.C. State Wolfpack

Thursday, Nov. 19: Florida State Seminoles

Saturday: Nov. 28: at Pittsburgh Panthers

Looking back at our predictions from a couple weeks back, it seems we got it very wrong, largely based on the fact that we didn’t anticipate opening at BC. But the greater takeaways from this release:

  • Opening at BC is a potential blessing with that team rebuilding and implementing a whole new system. Also means we don’t have any tape on what we’ll see, and we know what happened last year when this staff had that excuse early...
  • Great bye placement again, coming in week six, giving us additional time to prepare before a pesky Liberty squad.
  • Clemson’s too late in the season (October 24) to catch Trevor Lawrence before he heats up, sadly.
  • Other than the first two weeks, not on the road in consecutive weeks at all, which is nice.
  • Potentially brutal November ahead of us with Wake, NC State, FSU and Pitt.
  • Speaking of, Thursday nighter against FSU at the Dome, which is fun, even if difficult.

***

How do we feel about the overall schedule? Happy? Disappointed? Dreading the whole damn thing? We’ll dive into very early W-L projections tomorrow.