clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The 2019 Cuse Awards Recap

Syracuse Athletics held their annual awards show onTuesday evening

NCAA Football: Syracuse-Dino Babers Press Conference Rich Barnes-USA TODAY Sports

Last night the Syracuse Orange honored the best of the 2018-19 academic year at the 13th annual Cuse Awards held on campus in the Schine Student Center. The event celebrates that athletic, academic and community service accomplishments of Syracuse student-athletes.

Let’s recap the award winners.

Rookie of the Year: Polina Shemanova (Volleyball) and Andre Cisco (Football)

Coaches of the Year: Leonid Yelin (Volleyball) and Dino Babers (Football)

Syracuse 8 Courage Award: Mary Malone (Cross-Country/Track)

This award is given to the student-athlete who has overcome obstacles and persevered in the face of adversity. It is named in honor of the eight Syracuse Football players who took a stand against injustice and sacrificed their football careers to make things better for those who followed them.

Performance of the Year: Paige Stoner (3rd place in NCAA Steeplechase) and Tyus Battle (32 points against the Duke Blue Devils)

Play of the Year: Tiana Mangakahia’s buzzer-beater against the DePaul Blue Devils

Game of the Year: Men’s Soccer defeats the Wake Forest Demon Deacons

Athletes of the Year: Tiana Mangakahia (W. Basketball) and Erik Dungey (Football)

Team of the Year: Women’s Lacrosse and Football

Soladay Award Winners: Santita Ebangwese (Volleyball) and Hendrik Hilpert (M. Soccer)

The Soladay Award is the highest honor given out to a Syracuse student-athlete and it recognizes excellence in academics, athletics, service and leadership. It’s named in honor of former Syracuse Women’s Athletic Administrator Doris Soladay.

Cuse Cup for Community Service: Volleyball

You can watch the Cuse Awards broadcast online at Cuse.TV.

Congratulations to all the winners.