clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Syracuse basketball with six receiving votes in the preseason USA TODAY Coaches Poll

Six is better than three.

Syracuse v Duke Photo by Lance King/Getty Images

The Syracuse Orange men’s basketball season is upon us, as the team will unofficially get things started tomorrow night from the Carrier Dome. The Orange will have two exhibition games prior to opening the season up against Virginia on Nov. 6.

To little surprise, Syracuse is starting the season unranked, but it did receive three votes in the preseason AP Top 25. That, and Jim Boeheim’s club was pegged at No. 51 in Ken Pom.

In case you missed it, the Orange also received six votes in Thursday’s preseason USA TODAY Coaches Poll. The AP Top 25 is the primary and most referenced ranking system, but the Coaches Poll is, well, a coaches poll.

Here’s some color on that, per USA TODAY:

The USA TODAY Sports men’s basketball coaches poll is conducted weekly throughout the regular season using a panel of head coaches at Division I schools. The panel is chosen in consultation with the National Association of Basketball Coaches. The members represent each of the 32 Division I conferences that receive an automatic bid to the NCAA tournament. Each coach submits a Top 25 with a first-place vote worth 25 points, second place 24, and so on down to one point for 25th.

Coaches voting for the 2019-20 season are: Randy Bennett, Saint Mary’s; Jim Boeheim, Syracuse; Glenn Braica, St. Francis (N.Y.); Tim Cluess, Iona; Jon Coffman, Purdue Fort Wayne; Tom Crean, Georgia; Scott Drew, Baylor; Matt Driscoll, North Florida; Steve Forbes, East Tennessee State; Mark Fox, California; John Gallagher, Hartford; Steve Hawkins, Western Michigan; Ron Hunter, Tulane; George Ivory, Arkansas-Pine Bluff; Ben Jacobson, Northern Iowa; Chris Jans, New Mexico State; James Jones, Yale; Greg Kampe, Oakland; Danny Kaspar, Texas State; Shantay Legans, Eastern Washington; Grant McCasland, North Texas; Mike McConathy, Northwestern State; Robert McCullum, Florida A&M; Greg McDermott, Creighton; Matt McMahon, Murray State; Dan Monson, Long Beach State; Chris Mooney, Richmond; Matt Painter, Purdue; Dave Pilipovich, Air Force; Brett Reed, Lehigh; Tubby Smith, High Point; Zach Spiker, Drexel.

In the likelihood that you skipped over that section: Jim Boeheim is the voting member from the ACC.