clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Syracuse honors top athletes and teams at Cuse Awards

The 11th annual event celebrated the accomplishments of the past year

NCAA Basketball: Duke at Syracuse
John Gillon’s buzzer beater captured play of the year
Rich Barnes-USA TODAY Sports

Each spring, the Syracuse Orange recognize the academic and athletic accomplishments of student-athletes at the Cuse Awards. The 11th annual award show was held last night so let’s take a look at some of the winners.

The Soladay Award goes to the student-athletes who best exemplify the academic, athletic, community service and leadership qualities of former Syracuse athletic administrator Doris Soladay. This year’s recipients were Saydee McQuay (Women’s Rowing) and Cameron MacPherson (Football).

The Female Athlete of the Year was Alexis Peterson. Peterson was the ACC Player of the Year and finished her career as the Syracuse all-time leader in assists, and second in scoring. Male Athlete of the Year for the second year in a row was Justyn Knight. Knight was 2nd at the NCAA Cross-Country and Indoor Track (3000m) Championships.

Game of the Year was awarded to Syracuse’s basketball victory over the Duke Blue Devils. John Gillon who made the game-winning shot that night was on hand to accept the award.

Football took home Play of the Year honors for Dontae Strickland’s touchdown pass to Brisly Estime in the Orange’s upset win over the Virginia Tech Hokies.

Performance of the Year awards were given to Sydney O’Hara and Freddie Crittenden III. O’Hara was recognized for her four home run game against NC State. She was the 5th player in NCAA history to record the feat. Crittenden was honored for his 2nd place finish in the 60m hurdles at the NCAA Indoor Track Championships.

Miranda Ramirez (Tennis) and Mo Adams (Soccer) were named as this year’s Rookie of the Year winners while Dajuan Coleman (Basketball) was recognized with this year’s Syracuse 8 Courage Award.

Women’s Basketball and Men’s Cross-Country were honored as the Teams of the Year while Coach of the Year awards went to Justin Moore (W. Rowing) and Chris Fox (Cross-Country/Track). Hendrik Hilpert (M. Soccer) received the Scholar-Athlete award. Women’s Soccer won the Team GPA award and Football was honored with the Cuse Cares Community Service Award.

Congratulations to all of the award winners.