clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Key takeaways from Syracuse football’s 2017 schedule

New, comments

The schedule’s here. What do we think?

NCAA Football: Louisiana State at Syracuse Mark Konezny-USA TODAY Sports

At 2 p.m. ET on Tuesday, the ACC released the full football schedules for all 14 ACC teams -- including the Syracuse Orange.

First, a refresher on what that looked like below:

Saturday, September 2: Central Connecticut State

Saturday, September 9: Middle Tennessee

Saturday, September 16: Central Michigan

Saturday, September 23: at LSU

Saturday: September 30: at NC State

Saturday, October 7: Pittsburgh

Friday, October 13: Clemson

Saturday, October 21: at Miami

Saturday, October 28: BYE

Saturday, November 4: at Florida State

Saturday, November 11: Wake Forest

Saturday, November 18: at Louisville

Saturday, November 25: Boston College

NCAA Football: Syracuse at Boston College Winslow Townson-USA TODAY Sports

We knew the schedule was tough before this was released, but obviously another difficult second half ahead for the Orange. Some pros and cons at first glance:

Pros

  • Bye before Florida State
  • Two home games in November
  • Starting with three at home
  • Wrapping up with Boston College again
  • Wake Forest in November provides better chance to pick up a late win
  • No ACC team faces Syracuse coming off their bye week

Cons

  • Two straight games in Florida (separated by a bye)
  • Clemson and Miami (and Florida State) back to back (to back)
  • Clemson on short rest (and national TV)
  • Still have road trips to Florida State AND Louisville in November
  • at NC State right after trip to LSU
  • Later bye week (after eighth game again)
  • Just the fact (once again) that we have to play LSU on the road at all
NCAA Football: Louisville at Syracuse Rich Barnes-USA TODAY Sports

When we tweeted earlier today that the Tigers, ‘Canes and ‘Noles would all be in a row, we were joking. Seems the joke is now the nightmare, even with the bye separating the second and third game in that string.

Early gut reaction says 5-7 here, despite what should be a better team. You can pencil in 3-0 to start, probably. Then have to hope Syracuse can beat one of NC State (on the road) or Pittsburgh (home) to set up a 2-2 ceiling in November. If you can beat Wake and BC, you’re home free at 6-6. If you go 1-3 in the final month, you’re playing the APR game.

But what say you? Happy with how this turned out? Even more sad than before? Share your thoughts below.