clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Two more Syracuse men’s soccer players selected in the MLS SuperDraft

Both Chris Nanco and Oyvind Alseth found a potential professional home on day two of the draft.

MLS: Combine
Chris Nanco at the MLS Combine
Kelvin Kuo-USA TODAY Sports

The Syracuse Orange men’s soccer team had two players — Miles Robinson and Liam Callahan -- selected on day one of the MLS SuperDraft this year. The draft remained Orange in day two as well, with both Chris Nanco and Oyvind Alseth being selected in the third round.

As a starting forward for the past four years, Nanco earned his stripes with his speed and footwork. He’ll try and parlay those traits into a roster spot with the Philadelphia Union, who selected him with the 55th overall pick. He’ll report to camp and get a shot with the Union or their USL affiliate Bethlehem Steel FC. This season, Nanco led the Orange in goals (seven) and total points (15). Here’s hoping for a successful career at the next level.

With the 65th overall selection, Toronto FC continued their love affair with Orange soccer, making Oyvind Alseth their third former Syracuse player drafted in the past three years, and fifth overall. Alseth was a starter for four years with Syracuse and was easily one of their most versatile players. His career started primarily as a fullback in the Orange’s former 4-2-3-1 look and moved more to a wingback or central midfielder in the 3-5-2 system. Alseth was co-captain on this year’s squad with fellow draft pick Liam Callahan.

This year’s draft was the most successful overall for a Syracuse team, with four players being selected over the draft. On day one, Miles Robinson took the prize for highest draft pick in Syracuse history, going second overall to Atlanta United. His former captain, Liam Callahan followed up with a second round selection by the Colorado Rapids. The four selections over the two days beats the 2014 draft out for most successful in Syracuse history.

Syracuse MLS Draft Picks by Year

Year Selection
Year Selection
2017 Robinson (ATL), Callahan (COL), Nanco (PHL), Alseth (TFC)
2016 Buescher (DCU), Polk (POR)
2015 Bono (TFC), Thomas (TFC), Murrell (RSL)
2009 Hall (TFC)
2007 Asante (TFC)
2004 Aloisi (LAG)