clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Syracuse Lacrosse: Dylan Donahue and Kayla Treanor Nominated for Tewaaraton Award

The senior stars have been the leaders of their respective teams this season, and now they are nominees for the Tewaaraton Award.

Drew Hallowell/Getty Images

Friday, the lists of 25 nominees for the Tewaaraton Award, given annually to the best college lacrosse player in the country, were revealed for both the men's and women's award. Two Syracuse Orange players, one each for men and women, were part of those lists: Dylan Donahue and Kayla Treanor.

For Donahue, it is the second consecutive year that he has been a nominee for the Tewaaraton. He leads the Orange in points (48) and assists (27), and ranks 18th in the country at 4.0 points per game and seventh in the country at 2.3 assists per game. Earlier this season, he became the 17th player in program history to record 200 points for his career. He has also scored a goal in 38 consecutive games (tied for longest streak in the country) and a point in 52 consecutive games (longest streak in the country).

For Treanor, it is the third consecutive year that she has been a nominee for the Tewaaraton. She leads the Orange in points (74), goals (42) and assists (32), and ranks ninth in the country in total points. She is also Syracuse's all-time leader in goals (252) and the NCAA Division I active leader in points (377) and goals.

Here is the full list of nominees for both, starting with the men:

Nick Aponte, Penn State - Jr., Attack

Trevor Baptiste, Denver - Soph., Faceoff

Kylor Bellistri, Brown - Sr., Attack

Kyle Berhnlohr, Maryland - Sr., Goalie

Scott Bieda, Rutgers - Sr., Attack

Ryan Brown, Johns Hopkins - Sr., Attack

Connor Cannizzaro, Denver - Jr., Atack

Deemer Class, Duke - Sr., Midfield

Dylan Donahue, Syracuse - Sr., Attack

Devin Dwyer, Harvard - Sr., Attack

Connor Fields, Albany - Soph., Attack

Jake Froccaro, Villanova - Jr., Midfield

Myles Jones, Duke - Sr., Midfield

Matt Kavanagh, Notre Dame - Sr., Attack

Jack Kelly, Brown - Sr., Goalie

Matt Landis, Notre Dame - Sr., Defense

Zach Miller, Denver - Jr., Midfield

Dylan Molloy, Brown - Jr., Attack

Sergio Perkovic, Notre Dame - Jr., Midfield

Steve Pontrello, North Carolina - Sr., Attack

Michael Quinn, Yale - Sr., Defense

Ben Reeves, Yale - Soph., Attack

Blaze Riorden, Albany - Sr., Goalie

Challen Rogers, Stony Brook - Sr., Midfield

Gunnar Waldt, Bryant - Sr., Goalie


And, now, here's the women's list:

Nina Corcoran, Penn - Sr., Attack

Maddie Crutchfield, Duke - Soph., Midfield

Taylor Cummings, Maryland - Sr., Midfield

Madison Cyr, Penn State - Sr., Midfield

Ellie DeGarmo, Princeton - Jr., Goalie

Dene DiMartino, Johns Hopkins - Sr., Midfield

Kelsey Duryea, Duke - Sr., Goalie

Caroline Fitzgerald, Florida - Sr., Defense

Cortney Fortunato, Notre Dame - Jr., Attack

Nicole Graziano, Florida - Sr., Midfield

Nadine Hadnagy, Maryland - Jr., Defense

Molly Hendrick, North Carolina - Jr., Attack

Olivia Hompe, Princeton - Jr., Attack

Sarah Mannelly, Boston College - Sr., Midfield

Marie McCool, North Carolina - Soph., Midfield

Alice Mercer, Maryland - Sr., Defense

Michaela Michael, USC - Jr., Attack

Kaylin Morissette, Louisville - Sr., Midfield

Courtney Murphy, Stony Brook - Jr., Attack

Kylie Ohlmiller, Stony Brook - Soph., Attack

Zoe Stukenburg, Maryland - Jr., Midfield

Barbara Sullivan, Notre Dame - Grad., Defense

Courtney Tarleton, USC - Sr., Defense

Kayla Treanor, Syracuse - Sr., Attack

Megan Whittle, Maryland - Soph., Attack


Five finalists for both men's and women's awards will be selected from each group of 25 on May 12. The Tewaaraton Award Ceremony will be held June 2 in Washington, D.C., at the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of the American Indian.