clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Syracuse Lacrosse: News and notes from the pro leagues

There have been some recent, Orange related, newsworthy items in both the MLL and NLL, let’s get everyone caught up.

Let’s get everyone caught up with some of the Syracuse Orange related pro-updates.

On September 26, 2016 the National Lacrosse League (box) held its annual draft. The Georgia Swarm selected former SU goalie Warren Hill with the 20th overall selection. Hill helped the Onondaga Community College Lazers to back-to-back NJCAA Championships with a 35-0 record in 2013 and 2014. He transferred to Syracuse for the 2015 season and made appearances in six games backing up Bobby Wardwell. Hill started the first eight games for ‘Cuse in 2016. Before being benched in place of Evan Molloy, Hill had a 9.70 goals against average and a .437 save percentage. The former Syracuse goalie will take the carpet with the Swarm alongside former SU players, Randy Staats, Joel White and Sean Young.

On September 27, 2016, the NLL announced its 2016 award winners. Randy Staats took home Rookie of the Year honors. Staats was also named to the All-Rookie Team.

Jeremy Thompson was named to the All-Pro Second Team and was the runner-up for the Transition Player of the Year Award. Thompson was a faceoff specialist while at SU and now plays for the Saskatchewan Rush. After two seasons at Onondaga Community College he came to SU where he had 33 goals and a .541 faceoff winning percentage in his Syracuse career.

Now over to the MLL, which announced each team’s 23-man protected roster for the 2017 season. Any player that is not protected is eligible to be selected in the MLL Supplemental Draft which will take place on Wednesday, December 14 at 2:00 PM. The MLL rosters will expand from 23 to 35 following the Supplemental Draft. Below is a quick summary of former SU players who have been protected and released.

MLL Active Rosters

Randy Staats – A – Atlanta Blaze

Kevin Rice – A – Atlanta Blaze (2016 All-MLL)

Brandon Mullins – D – Boston Cannons

Dylan Donahue – A – Charlotte Hounds

Matt Abbott – M – Chesapeake Bayhawks

Tim Barber – M – Denver Outlaws

Steven Brooks – M – Florida Launch

Jovan Miller – M – Florida Launch

Jeremy Thompson – M – Florida Launch

JoJo Morasco – M – New York Lizards

Tommy Palasek – A – New York Lizards

Derek DeJoe – M – Rochester Rattlers


Nicky Galasso – M – Atlanta Blaze

Warren Hill – G – Atlanta Blaze

Stephen Keogh – A – Atlanta Blaze

Henry Schoonmaker – M – Atlanta Blaze

Sean Young – D – Charlotte Hounds

Casey Powell – A – Florida Launch

Cody Jamieson – A – New York Lizards

Brian Megill – D – New York Lizards

Matt Harris – D – Ohio Machine

This season, the MLL announced a new policy allowing players who have been in the league for at least five consecutive seasons and have an expiring contract can chose to move to a different market. Before the next draft, Supplemental or Expansion, each player that declared themselves eligible will have the opportunity to sign a new contract. If the player does not sign, his original team has the option of placing the player on its 23-man protected roster, otherwise the player will be released into the player pool.

The below Syracuse alumni declared themselves eligible for the new player movement policy.

Declared Eligible for Player Movement

John Galloway – G – Rochester Rattlers (2016 All-MLL) (2016 Goalie of the Year)

Joel White – D – Rochester Rattlers (2016 All-MLL) (2016 Co-Defensive POY)

John Lade – D – Rochester Rattlers