clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Soccer, Field Hockey, and XC/Track Win Big at 'Cuse Awards

New, 14 comments

The 9th Annual Cuse Awards are in the books and it was a night dominated by the Olympic Sports.

Last night the Syracuse Orange celebrated the athletic and academic success of student-athletes at the 9th Annual Cuse Awards. If you want to see some of your favorite SU Athletes on the Orange Carpet, you can check out the photo gallery. In addition to the awesome Cooney photo featured above, be sure to look for Michael Gbinije and his fanny pack, and professional photo stand-in AJ Long

Awards were given in a variety of categories, but we'll start with the four categories we previewed yesterday.

Male Athlete of the Year: Alex Bono, Soccer

It's hard to argue against Bono receiving the award over Martin Hehir and Rakeem Christmas. As Steve Haller pointed out yesterday, here's Bono's resume: Hermann Trophy finalist (final three) for best player in the nation. Consensus All-American and ACC DPOY, Drafted in the first round (#6) of the MLS Draft. Syracuse single season records this year for Goals Against Average, Shutouts and Minutes Played.

Female Athlete of the Year: Emma Russell, Field Hockey

We thought it would be Kayla Treanor, but Russell led the field hockey team to the National Final last fall. She was a 1st-Team All-American, 1st-Team All-ACC, and led the Orange in scoring and certainly deserving of the honor.

Female Rookie of the Year: Lieke Visser, Field Hockey

This seemed like the obvious choice to us as Visser was 3rd-team All-American, 2nd-team All-ACC, led the team in assists, and finished 2nd in scoring in her freshmen season.

Male Rookie of the Year: Justyn Knight, X-C/Track

I'll certainly pat myself on the back for this prediction. Knight's made a huge impact in his first year at Syracuse and he's got a chance of making the NCAA Outdoor Championship in the 1500.

Here is the complete list of winners:

Men's Coach of the Year: Ian McIntyre (Soccer)
Female Coach of the Year: Ange Bradley (Field Hockey)

Men's Team of the Year: Cross Country
Female Team of the Year: Field Hockey

Doris Soladay Awards: Komal Safdar (Tennis) and Sam Rodgers (Football)

The Soladay Award is given the graduating student-athlete who displays the best combination of success in academics and athletics, leadership, and community engagement. The award is named in honor of former Syracuse Associate AD Doris Soladay, and it was first established in 1995.

Male Performance of the Year: Martin Hehir (X-C/Track)
Female Performance of the Year: Shaina Harrison (Track and Field)

Game of the Year: Field hockey's Final Four victory against North Carolina

Syracuse 8 Courage Award: Gogo Kollie (Men's Soccer)

Play of the Year: Skylar Thomas (Men's soccer) game-winning goal against Virginia

Male Cuse Scholar Award (Highest GPA): Reed Kamyszek (X-C/Track)

Female Cuse Scholar Award: Komal Safdar (Tennis)

Cuse Cares Award (outstanding community service): Women's soccer
Team Grade-Point Average Award (highest GPA): Tennis