clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2015 'Cuse Awards Preview & Predictions

The ninth annual 'Cuse Awards ceremony celebrating the success of Orange student-athletes will be held on Monday evening. Let's take a look at some of the nominees and make predictions.

Rich Barnes-USA TODAY Sports

The 2015 Cuse Awards will be held tonight. The annual celebration of the year in Syracuse Orange Athletics honors the athletic and academic achievement of SU student-athletes. In advance of tonight's event, SU Athletics has released some videos highlighting nominees in some of the major categories.

First up is Male Athlete of the Year:

Nominees: Alex Bono (Soccer), Cameron Lynch (Football), Martin Hehir (X-C/Track), Rakeem Christmas (Basketball), Dylan Donahue (Lacrosse), and Ben Williams (Lacrosse)


Invisible Swordsman: Martin Hehir won the ACC Cross-Country title, the ACC indoor 5k title, was an All-American in Indoor Track and set SU school records in the Mile and 10k.

Steve Haller: Alex Bono - Hermann Trophy finalist (final three) for best player in the nation. Concensus All-American and ACC DPOY, Drafted in the first round (#6) of the MLS Draft. Syracuse single season records this year for Goals Against Average, Shutouts and Minutes Played.

Kevin Wall: With all due respect to Rakeem Christmas, my winners are Alex Bono and Martin Hehir. Bono was a 1st-team All-American, Finalist for the Hermann Award, 1st-round pick in the MLS Draft, and was brought up to the US National Team. Bono helped lead the Orange to a #1 ranking this Fall. Hehir's 2014-15 has been the best year for a distance runner in Syracuse history.

Female Athlete of the Year

Nominees: Margo Malone (X-C/Track), Emma Russell (Field Hockey), Alexis Peterson (Basketball), Melissa Piacentini (Ice Hockey) Georgia Hamilton (Rowing), and Kayla Treanor (Lacrosse)


Invisible Swordsman: Kayla Treanor was a finalist for the 2014 Tewaaraton Award and 1st-Team All-American. She notched her 200th career goal to give the Orange the 2015 ACC Title

Steve Haller: Kayla Treanor- Top player on the ACC Champions? Check. Tewaaraton finalist as a Junior? Check. Deserving.

Kevin Wall: Kayla Treanor- Last year, Treanor set the SU record for goals in a season while leading the Orange to the National Title game.

Female Rookie of the Year

Nominees: Lieke Visser (FH), Leah Levert (Volleyball), Stephanie Grossi (Ice Hockey), Maddie Doane (Softball), Courtney Brosnan (Soccer), and Riley Donahue (Lacrosse)


Invisible Swordsman: Lieke Visser was named 3rd-team All-American, 2nd-team All-ACC, led the team in assists, and finished 2nd in scoring.

Steve Haller: Lieke Visser - All American as a freshman and standout for a squad that made the NCAA title game for the first time in school history.

Kevin Wall: Lieke Visser. Visser's scoring helped the Orange to reach the 1st National Final in program history.

Male Rookie of the Year

Nominees: Justyn Knight (XC/Track), Julien Buescher (Soccer), Steve Ishmael (Football), and Kaleb Joseph (Basketball)


Invisible Swordsman: Julien Buescher was named a Freshmen All-American and to the 1st-team All-ACC Freshman team.

Steve Haller: Julian Buescher - It may seem like I'm partial to the soccer team (I am), but Buescher stepped up this year and was an absolute beast on the left side of midfield. He served a beautiful ball and was integral in the success of the team. Named a freshman All-American by TopDrawerSoccer and was also named to the All-ACC Academic team.

Kevin Wall: Justyn Knight was not only ACC Rookie of the Year in Cross-Country, but he's also set a new SU record in the 1500.

Here are some other possible award categories and who we think will take home the coveted hardware:

Team of the Year: Field Hockey. The Orange rebounded from an 0-3 start in ACC play to make the 1st National Final in program history.

Best Siblings:  Dylan and Riley Donahue (Lacrosse) take the award over Trevor and Terry Cooney (Basketball), and someone doesn't seem too thrilled by the choice.

Bow-Tie of the Year: Coach Q

Daniel Bryan Beard Award- Bobby Wardwell (Lacrosse) YES!YES!YES!

Did we miss any special awards? Let us know in the comment section. If you're in the Syracuse area, you can watch the Cuse Awards on Time Warner Cable Sports Syracuse beginning on Tuesday.