clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Syracuse Track: Harrison and Hehir Claim ACC Titles

The Syracuse Track teams competed in the ACC Indoor Track Championships this weekend. Sprinter Shaina Harrison and Distance Runner Martin Hehir both won individual titles and Hehir was named co-MVP.

Heading into last weekend's ACC Indoor Track Championships, the focus was on individual performances, and not the final team scores. Two Syracuse Orange athletes delivered title-winning performances and several others earned All-ACC recognition.

Shaina Harrison became the 1st Syracuse woman to win an ACC Track Championship when she took 1st in the 60m dash in a time of 7.31. Also scoring for the Orange on the women's side were Rebecca Robinson (7th) in the 400m, Margo Malone (2nd) in the 5k and (8th) in the 3k, Sofia Mossberg (4th) in the 60m hurdles, Regine Hunter (3rd) in the Triple Jump, and the 7th place 4x400m relay of Brittany Belo, Bria Goodson, Danielle Delgado, and Robinson. Syracuse ended up in 10th place in the team competition, which was won by Clemson.

Martin Hehir continued to make his case to be considered the greatest distance runner in Syracuse history. Hehir won the 5k in an ACC Championship record time of 13:57.97 and returned the next afternoon to duel Virginia Tech's Thomas Curtin in the 3k. Hehir made a late charge, but ended up 2nd in a new Syracuse school record time of 7:53.15. The performances were enough to earn Hehir a share of the MVP on the men's side with Tevin Hester of Clemson.

Here's highlights of Hehir's races:

Syracuse also received strong performances from Donald Pollitt (2nd) and David Gilstrap (8th) in the 60m hurdles, Colin Bennie (6th) and Joel Hubbard (8th) in the Mile, Jabari Butler (5th) in the High Jump, Reggie Morton (7th) in the Long Jump and the 5th place Distance Medley team of Bennie, Hubbard, Paul Lovell and TJ Hornberger. Syracuse finished 6th in the men's team competition, which was won by the host Virginia Tech team.

SU Athletics provided some recaps of each day's competition:

Day 1:

Day 2:

Day 3: