clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2014 ACC WLAX Tourney: Syracuse Advances To Championship With 9-7 Win Over UNC

The Orange get a chance at redemption against the one team to beat them, the Maryland Terrapins.

Anthony Gruppuso-US PRESSWIRE

The Syracuse Orange men's and women's lacrosse programs will have the chance to win dual ACC Titles now that both programs have advanced to the ACC Tournament Finals. Both did it in thrilling fashion as well.

The women's contest against the North Carolina Tar Heels didn't come down to the final second, but it did feature a thrilling comeback by the Orange to overcome a late deficit and end up on the better side of a 9-7 finish.

The Orange raced out to a 6-1 lead early but say that vanish quickly.

Aly Messinger's goal at the 13:35 mark capped a 5-0 North Carolina (14-4) scoring run and gave the Tar Heels their first lead at 7-6. Sophomore Kayla Treanor tied the game when she came from around the left side of the net and put her shot in the back of the cage with 8:28 remaining. That goal was the Orange's (17-1) first goal of the half and ended a scoreless drought of more than 22 minutes.

Syracuse won the ensuing draw and senior Katie Webster had a chance to give the Orange the lead, but Megan Ward made one of her 11 second-half saves on the play. Syracuse maintained possession and senior Amy Cross took advantage when scored her fourth goal of the tournament at the 7:20 mark to give the Orange the lead for good. Syracuse again won the draw control and ran the clock down to 5:49 when Webster found the back of the net for her fourth goal of the day to give Syracuse a 9-7 advantage.

SU held off a last-ditch effort and advanced to the Championship Game where they'll face the mighty Maryland Terrapins. Syracuse and Maryland are No. 1/No. 2 in both polls, though swapped. Maryland also handed SU it's only loss of the season.

The game takes place Sunday at 1:00 p.m. ET.

Meanwhile, both senior Alyssa Murray and sophomore Kayla Treanor were named two of 27 nominees for the 2014 women's Tewaaraton AwardThe five finalists will be announced on May 8 and invited to the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony, which takes place on May 29 in Washington, D.C.