clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2013-2014 ACC Awards: T.J. Warren Named POY, Jabari Parker Named FOY

Tyler Ennis and C.J. Fair received a couple votes here and there but the awards went elsewhere.

Mark Konezny-USA TODAY Sports

Major individual awards were handed out today for the 2013-2014 ACC Basketball season and the Syracuse Orange were shut out (which, you know, was not unexpected).

NC State Wolfpack sophomore T.J. Warren was chosen as the ACC Player of the Year. Warren received 48 first-place votes, beating out Duke Blue Devils freshman Jabari Parker, who placed second with 25 votes. Warren leads the ACC in scoring at 24.8 points per game and in field goal percentage at .532.

C. J. Fair received one vote for POY. Thanks, Anonymous Post-Standard Media Member!

Meanwhile in the Freshman of the Year voting, Parker ran away with the award. He received 72 votes, blowing away Syracuse's Tyler Ennis, who received four. London Perrantes of Virginia was the only other player to receive a vote.

Ennis also showed up in the Defensive Player of the Year voting, garnering three votes overall. The winner was K.J. McDaniels of the Clemson Tigers.

Finally, the ACC Coach of the Year honors went unsurprisingly to Virginia Cavaliers' head man Tony Bennett. Bennett led Virginia to a 25-6 overall record and a 16-2 ACC finish that produced the program’s first outright regular-season conference title since 1981.

While I don't think anyone expected Jim Boeheim to win, it was somewhat surprising to see he didn't even get a vote. Especially when Jamie Dixon and Jim Larranaga both got one. But…WHATEVER…try not to get sucked into that discussion.