clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Field Hockey: Syracuse Falls 2-0 To Wake Forest In ACC Championship Final

The Orange were never able to get things going in the final of the ACC Championship tournament on Sunday.

Jack Marion

The Syracuse Orange fell 2-0 to the Wake Forest Demon Deacons in the ACC Field Hockey Championship final on Sunday -- the team's first loss since October 18, when, coincidentally, they lost to the Demon Deacons 4-2 in Winston-Salem.

After wins against Boston College in the quarterfinals and North Carolina in the semis, Syracuse was a mere 70 minutes from its first ACC Championship in just its second year in the conference. But Wake Forest got goals from Christine Conroe and Georgia Holland in the 15th and 19th minutes, respectively, and the Demon Deacons never looked back.

The Orange had their chances. They had as many shots on goal (4) as the Deacons did, but were unable to get anything past Wake Forest goalie Valerie Dahmen. It was Wake Forest's first conference title since 2006.

"Today, Wake Forest played a very aggressive game and they did a really good job in managing us," head coach Ange Bradley told after the loss. "We didn't do a good job of taking care of the things we knew we had to take care of to match up against Wake Forest. We learn from that, move on, and be better."

Not long after the game's conclusion, the NCAA Division I Field Hockey Committee announced the 16-team field for the 2014 NCAA Field Hockey Championship. Syracuse was awarded the tournament's fourth overall seed and will face the Boston Terriers on Saturday at J.S. Coyne Stadium.

Also making the tournament from the ACC: Wake Forest (automatic bid), North Carolina (the No. 1 overall seed), Duke, Boston College, and Louisville. Virginia was the only ACC team to be left out of the tournament.