clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Syracuse, Baylor, Gonzaga Headline 2013 Maui Invitational

via <a href=""></a>

Back in November we saw this banner that let us know the Syracuse Orange would be playing in the 2013 Maui Invitational. Today, that news became official.

The Orange, champions in 1990 and 1998, will be joined in the 2013 tournament by former winners Gonzaga (2009) and Dayton (2003), it was announced Tuesday.

They will be joined in the games played at the Lahaina Civic Center by Arkansas, Baylor, California, Minnesota and Division II Chaminade, the host school.

Good luck trying to tell us that Syracuse doesn't travel that year.

Syracuse defeated Indiana both times in the finals to win the 1990 and 1998 versions. Sadly, the Hooisers aren't going to be there, so we'll just have to pick on someone else (looking at you, Chaminade).

Of course, whether or not the Orange will be there as a Big East school or ACC school remains to be seen. Either way, that'll help. A school from either of those conferences has won six of the last eight tournaments and had a team in the finals every time.