clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Syracuse DE Chandler Jones On Lombardi Award Watch List

The Rotary Lombardi Award Committee has released the Official Watch List for the 2011 Rotary Lombardi Award and Syracuse DE Chandler Jones is one of ten Big East players on the list.

The Rotary Lombardi Award goes to the nation’s college lineman, either on offense of defense, of the year (Justin Pugh, anyone?).

Chandler is coming off a season in which he had 57 tackles, 38 solo, four sacks and a forced fumble. He was also selected to the All-Big East's second team.

Last year’s Rotary Lombardi Award winner was Auburn's Nick Fairley.

The SEC placed fifteen players on the list, followed by the ACC with 13, Big Ten and Pac-10 with 12 apiece and 10 players each from the Big 12 and Big East.

You can check out the full list here. The list will be periodically updated and revised up to the first round of voting to determine the 12 semifinalists. The 42nd Rotary Lombardi Award will be held on December 6-7, 2011 at Reliant Center in Houston.