clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The Cuse Awards: Game & Coach Of The Year

SU Athletics is gearing up for their annual Cuse Awards and they're looking to us, the loyal Cuse fans, to help decide who wins some of the awards.

In addition to the live telecast, the show will be replayed on Time Warner Cable Sports on Wednesday, May 5 at 7:30 p.m., Friday, May 6 at 7:00 p.m., and Sunday, May 8 at 12:30 p.m.  It will also be available for on-demand viewing online at

They've started doing polls for various ones, so let's take a look at what's up for voting and make our selections together. This way, I can see what you're doing. I'll be honest, I don't trust you to do this on your own.

Game of the Year

Football vs. Kansas State, New Era Pinstripe Bowl   Watch

Pinstripe Bowl? Pinstripe Bowl.

Coach of the Year

Ange Bradley, Field Hockey
Head coach Ange Bradley was named the BIG EAST Conference Coach of the Year. Bradley has won the award three times in the last four years, including 2007, 2009 and 2010.  In her fourth season as head coach of the Orange Syracuse had a 16-5 record and a 6-0 record in league play for the second straight year. Bradley led the Orange to its third consecutive regular-season title and defeated a conference-best nine ranked opponents in 2010. Bradley’s Syracuse teams have a combined 68-18 (.791) record during her four seasons.

Chris Fox, Cross Country
Coach Fox led the Orange to their second consecutive Northeast Region and BIG EAST Championship. Fox was named Northeast Region Men's Coach of the Year and his staff earned BIG EAST Men's Coaching Staff of the Year. The men finished in a program-best 14th-place finish out of 31 teams at the NCAA Championship. He led the women to their second consecutive Northeast Region title, a program-best tying third place at the BIG EAST Championship and a program-best 10th-place finish at the NCAA Championship.

Gary Gait, Women’s Lacrosse (2010)
Coach Gait led Syracuse to its second Final Four appearance in the last three years. The Orange earned an at-large bid to the NCAA Tournament where it went on the road to defeat No. 4 seed Georgetown and No. 5 seed James Madison to advance to the Final Four. Syracuse was the only team to win a game on the road in last year’s tournament and became just the second unseeded team to advance to the national semifinals since the NCAA Tournament started seeding eight teams in 2005.

Doug Marrone, Football
Coach Marrone was named AFCA Region I Coach of the Year as he led the Orange to an 8-5 record and the 2010 New Era Pinstripe Bowl championship. 2010 was SU’s first winning season and first bowl victory since 2001. The team’s four BIG EAST road victories is a first in program history

Dave Reischman, Crew (2010)
Syracuse concluded the 2010 season by recording three top-10 finishes, including a sixth-place finish in the varsity eight and a seventh-place showing in the second varsity eight at the 108th Intercollegiate Rowing Association (IRA) Regatta in Camden County, N.J. The Orange finished seventh in the Ten Eyck Team Championship with 119 points.

Leigh Ross, Softball (2010 and 2011)
In 2010, Coach Ross guided the squad to its first BIG EAST Championship title and NCAA Regional appearance with a 32-26 overall record. It marked the first time that the fifth-seeded Orange had advanced to the BIG EAST tournament final as it became the lowest seed in conference history to capture the title.

Doug Marrone? Doug Marrone.

You can cast those votes here and stay tuned for more chances.