clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Syracuse Honors 8 LetterWinners of Distinction, You're Not One Of Them

New, comments

'Cause you're a LetterLoser of Distinction. AMIRITE? Ugh...

You're already going to be at Turning Stone Casino on Saturday, October 22, so you might as well stick around for the LetterWinner of Distinction banquet. At it, eight of Syracuse University's former athletic standouts will be honored at the not-awkwardly-at-all-named ‘The Tradition of Excellence Continues’ celebration.

Let's take a look at the eight LetterWinners. I'm going to list two accomplishments. One is what they actually did and one is completely made up. See if you can figure out which is which:

Kris Beyer (Swimming)

  • A three-year member of the SU swimming team before she earned her B.S. in electrical engineering from the L.C. Smith College of Engineering in 1986.
  • Has never uttered the word, "pickle."

Frank Hamblin (Basketball)

  • A three-time letterwinner in basketball, he was a member of the Chicago Bulls’ NBA-championship teams in 1997 and 1998 and the Los Angeles Lakers’ NBA championship teams in 2000, 2001, 2002, 2009 and 2010.
  • Between 1996 and 2010, held an annual meeting in which he tried in vain to convince Phil Jackson to let Danny Schayes start for his team.

Joseph Krivak (Football/Baseball)

  • An offensive lineman/linebacker, who earned three football letters while blocking for All-American Jim Brown. Became a head coach at Maryland.
  • Instituted a "No Edsalls" rule at Maryland that remained in effect until recently.

James Kuhn (Fencing)

  • Captained the fencing team during the 1967-68 season and was a three-time letter-winner.
  • His life was the basis for the movie Drive. It was also the basis for the movie Outbreak.

Felisha Legette-Jack (Basketball)

  • Four-time basketball letterwinner, was Big East Freshman of the Year in 1985 and earned All-Big East honors in 1986, 1987 and 1989.
  • Hand sews all of Quentin Hillsman's clothing.

Ron Oyer (Football)

  • A three-time football letter-winner, Oyer was a co-captain in 1965, teaming with Floyd Little, Larry Csonka and Jim Nance.
  • Took Little, Csonka and Nance to Las Vegas. After a wild evening, disappeared, leaving that trio to search for him all day, all-the-while meeting interesting characters, a hooker with heart of gold and a monkey. Turns out, he was on the roof.

Anthony Paskevich (Lacrosse)

  • A two-time lacrosse letter-winner (1965-66), he received the most improved player award.
  • Responsible for ridding the Quad of black bears once and for all in 1965.

Leo Rautins (Basketball)

  • Helped lead the Orange to its first Big East Tournament championship with the winning tip-in in the third overtime and was named tournament MVP.
  • Created Andy Rautins in an experiment to make the finest shooter in the history of the world. An earlier result of the experiment was deemed a little "off", named Eric Devendorf.